My Goal for Me in 2014

gh-happynewyear

I’m not one for New Year resolutions and frankly, life has been so busy lately that I really didn’t have time to put a lot of thought into one this year.  However, with a new year, there is always a desire in me to start something new; to really make some positive things happen in the upcoming year.  This year, like many, my goal for the year is to get healthier.  I don’t know if it has been the constant food binge of the holidays or all of the uncertainty and instability in my day-to-day life of late, but I definitely need to work on things.  So this year, my health is my goal.

I have struggled with my weight my entire life.  I don’t remember a time when it wasn’t an issue for me.  I’ve lost a little, gained, lost a little, and gained since I first became aware of my weight in the third grade.  I was able to keep it in check through most of high school, largely through starvation dieting.  Healthy, right?  Toward the end of college, I put on quite a bit and knew something had to be done.  So the spring after I graduated and before law school started in the fall, I joined Weight Watchers and lost 62 pounds.  It was a great experience for me.  My confidence was higher, I slept better, and I was happy.  I even met my goal weight and managed to keep it off through most of law school.  Since then, however, I have acquired a husband, two wonderful little boys, and a much, much busier lifestyle that does not necessarily cater to my own needs.  I have also gained all (and a little more) of the weight back.  So again, something must be done.

The primary objective this time is my health, rather than my looks.  I have a 3 year old and 1 year old and within the next few years, we would like to add number three to the mix.  It isn’t possible for me right now, though.  As most moms, I have very little time for myself.  If I get to read a book for 30 minutes before I crash at night, I feel as if I’ve done something.  I’m not complaining, as I feel very blessed to be able to stay home with my little ones, but I know I need to change this.  There is no way I can go into a third pregnancy with the weight still on.  It’s time for a lifestyle change.  And since we’re already making huge changes in the Wier household and because a new year means new goals, today is the day to start changing.  Once we move out of the apartment we are currently in and into a new home, I plan to join Weight Watchers again.  Increased exercise is also part of the plan.  Although I spend very little time sitting down these days, it isn’t the same as actually devoting time to working out.   Just as importantly, my goal is to set aside at least an hour a day for myself; just to recharge my own batteries.

I know New Year’s resolutions and goals aren’t for everyone, but if you are planning something similar for 2014, I would love to hear from you.  Maybe we can offer each other some support and encouragement along the way.  Even if losing weight isn’t your aim, please share.  Happy New Year everyone! (Hey, I’ve been busy over the last few weeks!)  Here’s to a healthier 2014!

One thought on “My Goal for Me in 2014

  1. I have similarish goals. I’ve been working on cutting out sugar. And have succeeded so far aside from hone and maple syrup on my muesli and Crio Bru. Also have started yoga. My major resolution is really to improve my overall health. Including social, spiritual, and emotional health. =]

Leave a Reply

