Meet Our Elf on the Shelf: Beau!

It’s that time of the year again! Time for Christmas trees, lights, and Elf on the Shelf. From my experience you either hate the Elf on the Shelf or you love the Elf on the Shelf. If you’re in the former category, I suggest you skip this post altogether. If you belong to the latter group, then right this way please!

love this Christmas tradition. For a few years now I have watched everyone’s Elf pictures on Facebook with envy. My children were too young to enjoy such a thing, so Santa had yet to deliver an Elf to our house. That all changed this year! Jude is now three, and just last week we had a knock on our door and a delivery man handed me a box. Inside the box was our very own Elf, who Jude named Beau!

I was unaware there was such a back story to the Elf on the Shelf. I thought it was just a fun Elf you got who ended up in all different situations throughout your home until Christmas was over. I was wrong. We opened our Elf on the Shelf and saw that he came with his own story. I wish I had waited to open him when Jude wasn’t around, but like I said, I didn’t know there was an involved story with him. Jude held our elf before we opened the book and discovered that touching him can make him lose his magic. Luckily, Jude believed that right away and he now makes sure not to touch Beau and if you ask him if you can touch Beau he will tell you quite sternly, “No! He’ll lose his magic!” (although last night Jude touched Beau. We didn’t see it and Jude said it was an accident. In any case, when Jude woke up this morning, Beau was in an elf-sized bed with some medicine beside him while he recuperates and gets his magic back!)

If you’re not familiar with the story of the Elf on the Shelf, he sits in your home and keeps an eye on things to make sure your children are being good boys and girls. When everyone is in bed, he flies to the North Pole to tell Santa Claus if the kids have been naughty or nice. He then returns to your house while you’re sleeping so he’ll be there for each new day to keep an eye on things. Here are a few images of what Beau has gotten up to at our house so far.

The first night, Beau climbed the Eiffel Tower!

The first night, Beau climbed the Eiffel Tower!

The next morning we found him atop our microwave. He helped himself to a lollipop and didn't clean up his mess afterward! Naughty Beau.

The next morning we found him atop our microwave. He helped himself to a lollipop and didn’t clean up his mess afterward! Naughty Beau.

Hanging out amidst the Christmas decorations.

Hanging out amidst the Christmas decorations.

Beau climbed into Jude's stocking.

Beau climbed into Jude’s stocking.

Last night he decided to sit on our upstairs landing.

Last night he decided to sit on our upstairs landing.

If you’ve been thinking of asking Santa for your very own Elf, but you think your kids are too young, I’m here to tell you that it doesn’t matter. Jude is three and a half and he’s equal parts entertained by Beau and confused by Beau, but I am having such a blast with it myself it doesn’t matter. Next year I think Jude will really love Beau and the confusion will slip away, but I don’t regret having an Elf on the Shelf because it is so much fun for me as a parent! I love making these new Christmas traditions with my kids. Feel free to share your Elf on the Shelf stories or pictures in the comments!

Leave a Reply

