Cherry Fluff Dessert

My husband has a skill for springing surprises on me. He’s most notorious for the, “We have to bring a dish.” surprise. It’s not the kind of surprise I enjoy. It is, however, the kind of surprise that leaves me wracking my brain, emptying my pantry, perusing Pinterest, and calling all my go to bakers for advice.  This happened just yesterday when Brian informed me we needed to bring a dessert to the Christmas party we were attending last night. I went into full panic mode. I didn’t have a lot of time. I needed something quick, cheap, easy and I really preferred something that looked festive. I searched Pinterest for an hour or so, but everything I found seemed much too daunting or just wasn’t Christmasy enough.  After searching to no avail, I asked my Mother-in-Law for suggestions and she reminded me of her Cherry Fluff she makes each year for Christmas dinner.  A light bulb went off and I went to the grocery store in search of ingredients. Cherry Fluff was the perfect idea. So, I thought I’d share this recipe with you. It really is by far the easiest dessert I’ve ever made, but what it lacks in time consumption, it more that makes up for in taste. The following is the recipe for Cherry Fluff Dessert. You ready? Don’t blink.

Ingredients:

  • 21 ounces cherry pie filling
  • 8 ounces of Cool Whip
  • 8 ounces of crushed pineapple
  • 14 ounces of sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 cup of chopped pecans
  • a few maraschino cherries for decoration
1477573_10202663814495472_119425950_n

All of the necessary ingredients for Cherry Fluff Dessert.

Directions:

67839_10202663814775479_1067014724_n

1. Mix all of the listed ingredients together in a bowl. The ingredients can be mixed in the bowl you wish to serve it out of, but for purposes of keeping the sides of the bowl neat and clean, I like to mix them in a mixing bowl and then pour it into the serving bowl and flatten out the surface to create a beautiful dish.

996993_10202663815015485_1351643825_n

2. Garnish the fluff with maraschino cherries for decoration and then allow to chill in the refrigerator for at least two hours before serving.

See. I told you not to blink. As you can see, there really is nothing to this recipe. It simply requires opening a few cans and mixing, but the end result is a light and smooth holiday treat. Throw in a 98 cent green bowl from WalMart and you’ve got a yummy, easy, and very Christmas appropriate dessert. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

