Motherhood has taught me…

mothers-day

Motherhood is the hardest job on the planet. Period. There is no manual or “how to” book. We’re all just going through this journey of parenthood and doing the best we can, day by day. It’s a learning process and from what I hear from more seasoned mothers you are still learning even when your children are grown. So, we at Three Ladies decided it would be fun to poll our readers on this very thing. We asked 22 Mothers to finish this thought: “Motherhood has taught me…” The following are their and our responses:

1. Motherhood has taught me that you need to listen to your own advice most times rather than others. Sometimes only you know what’s right for your baby! ~Taylor Cornell (mother of a one year old.)

2.  Motherhood has taught me to question everything. There is no greater earthly love than that of a mother for her children. I’ve also gained a greater patience and a respect for taking everything one moment at a time (and cherishing each moment for what it is). ~ Cristin Stanley Potter (mother of three kids under the age of 5.)

3. Motherhood has taught me to be patient while they are trying to learn new things. That my house is a home where children live so it will be messy! That your marriage will struggle if you let it. It takes two people to make a baby and two to raise it! ~ Amanda Cooper (Mother of three kids under the age of 5.)

4. Motherhood has taught me to be patient – we’re all so happy when we have time to enjoy each other! It’s taught me flexibility – plans change constantly, especially with a toddler and a newborn! Most importantly, I’ve learned what it truly means to love someone unconditionally. ~Nicole Fravel (Mother of a 3 year old and newborn.)

5. Motherhood has taught me that there isn’t always a right answer. Sometimes you have to go with your gut and hope for the best! ~ Whitney Tackett (Mother of a one year old.)

6. Motherhood has taught me not to ever think that just because you’re a mother, that you don’t make mistakes, and to acknowledge that to your children and ask for forgiveness. They learn what they see and hear. Live your example! ~ Mary Rasnake (Mother of two adult children.)

7. Motherhood has taught me the meaning of unconditional love. With a new baby, I have learned that the unconditional love of a mother multiplies once a second child is born. I assume the more children you have, the more that love multiplies! ~ Brittany Ratliff (Mother of two kids under 4.)

8. Motherhood has taught me that being a good mom is a learn as you go job. And the job doesn’t stop when the kids are grown. ~ Sherry Jacobs (Mother of three adult children, including Three Ladies author, Ashley.)

9. Motherhood has taught me to always trust my inner voice, no matter what. It has taught me that the love of a mother to her child is deeper, stronger, and more unconditional than any other love in this world, and is a glimpse of how God must love us . Most of all, it has taught me the depths of my own strength, courage, and resiliency. ~ Erin Widner (Mother of three children under 5.)

10. Motherhood has taught me devotion, selflessness, unconditional love, a disgust of being puked on, the pain of stepping on a lego/barbie shoe, and a new appreciation of my own mom. ~ Heather Kelly Vanhoose (Mother of two kids under 5.)

11. Motherhood taught me that your children are not you. They are each individual people with their own likes & dislikes, their own ideas. You give them guidance, but in the end you have to allow them to be who they are and accept them no matter what; just love them. One of the best compliments I ever received came from one of my children, it was, “Mom, you have four totally different kids…that’s because you let us!” I loved hearing that. ~ Sherry Hallock (Mother of four adult children.)

12. Motherhood has taught me that it is possible to love someone you’ve never met with every fiber of your being. That from the moment you see that positive test result, your world revolves around someone else entirely and they are all you think about every waking moment, and sometimes even in your dreams. ~Lori Hilton (Mother of one baby boy, who is due to arrive in March.)

13. Motherhood has taught me about unconditional love and selflessness. It has taught me to think…about my every decision. It has taught me my purpose in life. ~Michele Varney (Mother of a two year old and one baby in Heaven.)

14. Motherhood has taught me how to have more patience than I could have ever thought possible and to have unconditional love towards another person. ~ Marietta Daniels (Mother of one adult child.)

15. Motherhood has taught me what unconditional love is all about. Regardless of the trials we face raising our children, and sometimes, the heartaches of worrying about problems they face as adults. They are always my children and I will always worry, sometimes just a little and sometimes a whole lot, and I always want to be there for them. I am thankful for my three children and love each of them unconditionally! ~Nanette Thacker (Mother of three adult children, including Three Ladies authors, Stephany and Lisa.)

16. Motherhood has taught me that things cannot always be perfect. That sometimes you can’t dictate your day as you wish and that the here and now is what matters. It has taught me that this craziness is ok and that the world will not stop spinning because of it! It has also taught me that every day is a new adventure and new learning experience. I mess up more as a parent than I would wish, but I know at the end of the day my kids love me and I love them and no crazy day or new situation that we have to face will ever change that! ~Jennifer Gard (Mother of three children under 6.)

17. Motherhood has taught me what it means to love another person with no reservation, no matter what, no matter the circumstance and what it means to be willing to lay down my life for another without having to take a second thought. It has taught me that I am valuable, needed, and shown me my purpose in life. It has also taught me that it is possible to be totally frustrated and at your breaking point with a person one minute and in the very next moment gushing with love for them. ~ Lisa Daniels (Mother of a one year old.)

18. Motherhood has taught me how to love without selfishness. And how to view the world with fresh eyes, seeing the fun and beauty in things that I otherwise wouldn’t.  ~ Ashley Rayford (Mother of a one year old and a 3 year old.)

19. Motherhood has taught me that as long as my family is together, healthy, and happy, I can handle anything that comes my way. It has taught me that kids have their own minds and not to judge others so harshly for how they are handling their own children. And it has also taught me that education comes from many different sources and that sometimes we are taught life’s most important lessons from the owners of peanut butter and jelly smeared faces. ~Stephany Wier (Mother of a one year old and a 3 year old.

20. Motherhood has taught me patience and unconditional love. It’s also taught me to view the world with a fresh perspective, as seen through the eyes of my daughters. But most of all…motherhood has taught me to really appreciate that all my kids are finally old enough to not follow me into the bathroom everytime I go in there! ~ Kathleen Palmer  (Mother of three daughters ages 11, 12,  and 13)

21. Motherhood has taught me so much love that I never knew I was capable of. It has taught me to be selfless. There were times when I needed things, but I didn’t get them because my children’s needs have always come first, because I’ve always wanted them to have better than I have. Most of all thankfulness to god for my children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren….If I’ve done anything right, it’s because the Lord has blessed me to do it. ~Marie Jacobs (Mother of 5 adult children, and a host of grandchildren, great grandchildren, and even great great grandchildren! Grandmother to all Three Ladies.)

22. Motherhood has taught me that it doesn’t matter what your kids do, you’ll always love them and support them. You’ll always have their best interest at heart, even when they make you angrier than you ever thought you’d be. ~ Randa Cornell (Step-Mother of two adult daughters.)

23. Motherhood has taught me the importance of instilling moral values, respect for others, and discipline in my child. These were lessons that have served him well. I am very proud to see this being used by my son with his children. This is very rewarding as a mother and a grandmother of two. ~ Barbara Ratliff (Mother of one adult son.)

24. Motherhood has taught me that being a good mother is a choice you make every day to put some else’s needs above your own.  And try to do the right thing daily only to find out you’re doing it all wrong. You must forgive yourself daily. ~ Casey Thacker (Mother of one child, step-mother of three children.)

25. Motherhood has taught me that it’s a true gift and to not take it for granted. ~Samantha Rickard (Mother of one two year old son.)

From 25 mothers we’ve gotten 25 completely different responses, but the overall theme of all of them is that a Mother’s love knows no end, regardless of if her baby is 5 months old, 5 years old, 15 years old, or 50 years old. They say, “A woman’s work is never done.” I think all of these statements prove that a mother’s isn’t either.

One thought on “Motherhood has taught me…

Leave a Reply

