Baby Ear Piercing: Our Experience

From the time I found out we would be welcoming a baby girl into our lives, I had visions of all things girly. My baby would wear hair bows, sparkles, and diamonds. This vision also included little diamond studs in her ears.

When Lilly was born, however, everything changed. I would have loved to see little earrings in her ears, but in order for that to happen, I would have to allow strangers to poke holes in her ears and hurt her. There was no way! Not as a new born anyway. I thought maybe further down the road I’d consider it, but not yet.

Then time just got away from me, as it so easily does with a baby in the house. One day I turned around and she was nine months old. My mother and father-in-law were visiting one weekend and we began discussing the possibility of piercing her ears. After thinking about it, I told my mother-in-law that if she wanted to take Lilly to have them done, then I would allow it. She excitedly agreed. When it was time to actually make the venture to the mall to have the piercing done, my motherly instinct kicked in and there was no way I wasn’t going to go, too.

When we got to Claire’s in our local mall, I had to sign a few forms stating that I agreed to allow the technician to pierce Lilly’s ears. She made a dot on each ear to mark the exact spot to insert the earrings. She took extra care to make sure that they were even. We picked out pretty little diamond studs and then I watched as the technician meticulously cleaned all of her piercing equipment, Lilly’s ears, and then the earrings. I felt confident in the cleanliness of the procedure. The technician asked another worker to aide in the piercing. She told us that it’s easier for babies to have both ears pierced at the same time in order to lessen the stress involved. I held Lilly’s head against my chest.  And the first technician counted…1…2…3. The piercing guns clicked in each ear simultaneously and then it was over. As to be expected, Lilly started crying the instant the earrings were in. I cuddled her and “shushed” her and the crying was over as quickly as it started. She might have cried a grand total of 30 seconds. Her bumps and bruises from learning to walk bring about water works that last much longer than the tears from having her ears pierced. The technician instructed us on how to care for her piercings and sent us on our way.

Since having her ears pierced, Lilly hardly even notices they’re there. She never bothers them and doesn’t mind when I turn them. She doesn’t like for me to take her earrings out to replace them, but that’s mostly just because it means she has to be still for a minute or two, and that’s a lot to ask from a one year old.

I’m sharing this post for one reason and that’s because I couldn’t even begin to count the number of strangers who have stopped me to ask if she cried when we had them done. People are curious about them, so I thought it would be good if other curious people who might Google “baby ear piercing” stumble upon this post and have a question or two answered. Yes, she did cry. No, it wasn’t much.

Many people are firmly against piercing a baby’s ears and that’s mostly because they believe it’s wrong to alter the baby’s body without her being able to make that decision on her own. I can understand that, and it’s definitely something to consider. However, I decided that I was confident enough that she’d probably want her ears pierced when she’s older and by doing it this way, I can care for them myself and she’ll be used to them. Plus, she won’t even remember having it done!  If she eventually decides she doesn’t want to wear earrings, she can simply take them out, and that will be perfectly fine too.

z

This was no more than five minutes after having her ears pierced. She was over it and smiling.

2 thoughts on “Baby Ear Piercing: Our Experience

  1. Like you, I was anxious to have our daughters ears pierced early. Admittedly, it is a personal decision, but like many other moms with little girls, I was unsure when to pierce her ears. When I was pregnant, I knew I wanted to do it early after I dreamed seeing my baby girl with little earrings soon after birth. I discussed with dh and he was okay with it.
    After she was born, and I got her sweet little earrings, but I was on the fence when to do it after seeing her precious, tiny, perfect ears. The idea of piercing this beautiful little babies ears all of the sudden seemed like something I could NOT do. How could I hurt my little baby? However, after seeing more and more babies and little girls with cute little earrings, I began warming up to the idea of doing it as an infant.
    Somewhere along the way I became one of those mamas who became all googly-eyed over other babies who had pierced ears saying how adorable they were. One day I put my diamonds in and held hers up to her ears in front of the mirror. She smiled and I knew it was time at two months.
    I asked our ped and she encouraged me to go ahead and do it after her first DTP shot saying it was best when mommy could care for them during the healing period. She said if they cry, its because of being restrained or the noise of the piercing instrument near their ears, not any real pain. Also, she gave me some tips for moms having their dd’s ears pierced. They included how to find the right person, where to take her and some OTC meds to minimize any discomfort. We did her at two months old and she did great.

    I had our dd pierced with some CZ’s in about the same size as my diamond earrings. She looked adorable and I had so many compliments on sweet little earrings. I knew that I had made the right decision.

    However, if your thinking about it, then your mommy intuition maybe be telling sooner is best. Drop me an e-mail if you would like our ped’s recommendations.

    Angie
    angietune@hotmail.com

    • Thanks so much for sharing your experience, too! Like you, I think in all things baby it’s important to educate yourself. If a mother is educated, then there’s no reason not to go forth with it. Thanks again for the comment!

Leave a Reply

