A Review of Dell Inspiron 3520 and Dell Warranties

Hi readers. As you know, Wednesday is my day to share with you all here at Three Ladies and Their Babies. If I’m being honest, my heart was really not in it this week. I was racking my brain trying to figure out what I would talk to you all about and I kept coming up empty. Finally, I just decided I’d discuss the issue I’ve been having this week and why, exactly, my heart wasn’t in it.

So why am I not in the blogging mood this week? Because I almost lost my dear, dear friend Larry. That’s right; Larry Laptop spent the past few days on his deathbed. Okay, okay, so basically my hard drive crashed on my laptop for the third time in less than nine months. Nine months!! Isn’t that crazy? Yes, it is. So the demise of my hard drive had me in a foul mood. At this point, I’m pretty much used to it, so I’ve gotten in the habit of frequently backing up my pictures and videos. Luckily, with the exception of a few low quality webcam pictures of our kids, all of our pictures and videos were saved. That said, it’s still annoying. To have to go through and download all my programs again, load all my files back onto the computer, and re-customize my desktop? I’d rather not, thank you.

121019062930527077The bright spot of this otherwise dismal tale (I’m being dramatic, indulge me!) is that Larry Laptop is still under the warranty he came with. What does this mean? This means that instead of having a funeral for Larry, he can undergo a simple surgery to have his hard drive replaced and it won’t cost me a penny. Larry Laptop joined our family in December of 2012 and since then he has had three hard drive replacement and a screen replacement. As you can tell, we love our warranty.

Larry Laptop is a Dell and I must say that before I bought Larry I had a pretty low opinion of Dell computers. Unfortunately, as much as I love Larry when he actually works, he hasn’t helped improve my opinion of Dell computers in general. Three hard drive changes in less than a year is pretty excessive. One thing I have to say about Dell though; their customer service is excellent. I have never had to wait more than a day after calling with my complaint to have Larry serviced and good as new. This past incident was discussed at Dell and then I was called by a manager who told me that they were going to put a different brand of hard drive in Larry this time and if this one fails as well they will replace Larry for me. Hopefully Larry Laptop is done needing hard drive transplants, but if not, it’s nice to know that he’ll be replaced for me free of charge. We will be paying to extend Larry’s warranty before January when it is due to expire.

The point of Larry Laptop’s tragic tale is this: always buy the warranty! In case you’d like to avoid having your own Larry Laptop (again I have to say, when he’s working he’s marvelous! I love him loads.), he’s actually a Dell Inspiron 15-3520. I’m happy to report that I am typing this post from Larry himself, who came through surgery yesterday, and with the exception of a problem with the mouse that is scheduled to be fixed by a Dell engineer tomorrow, is fit as a fiddle.

3 thoughts on “A Review of Dell Inspiron 3520 and Dell Warranties

  1. Love the way you wrote this because computers are like family. As far as Dells go I know you have had very bad luck with them but we never had. Hope yours is ok now. Gotta love warranties and companies who stand behind them.

    • Thank you! Like I said, I love the computer when it’s working. It’s one of the best ones I’ve had when the hard drive isn’t crashing 😉

  2. Pingback: A Review of Dell’s Customer Service | Three Ladies and Their Babies

Leave a Reply

