Steph’s Top Five Go-To Dinner Recipes

The other day, I was perusing the internet for dinner ideas when I thought, “I just want somebody to give me some quick and easy go-to dinners. I just want a list.” I felt like there was so much to look at and so many recipes out there, that it was just information overload. My next thought was, “Okay. Maybe I should do a post with a few of my favorite dinner recipes.” So that’s what this is; my top five go-to dinner recipes.

Favorite Number One: Classic Rice Pilaf

Rice Pilafhttp://m.allrecipes.com/recipe/228044/classic-rice-pilaf

Don’t let the name throw you. This is basically just rice that you bake in the oven. Everyone in my house loves it. Even Declan picks out the veggies and eats them. It makes a wonderful side dish and we’ve even been known to use the leftovers for a stir-fry the next day. We especially love it with fish. I leave out the saffron and pepper and add peas and carrots to sneak some veggies in, but it’s all personal preference.

Favorite Number Two: Salisbury Steak

Salisbury Steakhttp://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Salisbury-Steak

First, let me say that I have never been a big fan of Salisbury Steak. It has always brought to mind tough meat with gelatinous gravy over it. But one day, when desperate for something new, I tried this recipe, and it is delicious. And it is really not very difficult at all. I leave out the mustard and double up on the gravy so that we have some for the mashed potatoes that I always make to go with this dish. It’s all about personal taste, though.

Favorite Number Three: Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

http://www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/rachael-ray-magazine-recipe-search/five-ingredient-recipes/parmesan-crusted-tilapia

TilapiaThis is a crazy simple recipe with very few ingredients. I keep frozen tilapia in my freezer, but rarely have parsley and lemons unless I’ve specifically gone out for them. Even without those ingredients, though, this recipe works and is fantastic. Add a little Pam, salt, pepper, and then the cheese and paprika and after 10 minutes or so in the oven, it’s finished. It doesn’t get much easier than that.

Favorite Number Four: Taco Soup

The beauty of this recipe is that you just open a bunch of cans, dump them into the pot, and let them go. It’s really that simple. Don’t drain anything and make any substitutes you want. You don’t have kidney beans? No problem. Use whatever kind you have. I have also thrown leftover chicken in, instead of the ground beef. I’ve also used half ground beef and half sausage. There is no way to mess this one up. I have no clue where this recipe originated, but it came to me from Colin’s mom. Below are the ingredients. Just dump them all into a pot and let them simmer together for a while. You can also put it all in a crock pot and let it warm that way.

  • 1 small onion, chopped and sautéed
  • 1 pound ground beef, browned
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • 1 packet dry ranch dressing mix
  • 1 can cream corn
  • 1 can kernel corn
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 can kidney beans
  • Season to taste with garlic, pepper, and Worchestershire sauce

Favorite Number Five: Broiled Pork Chops

This is quick and easy and came from a Weight Watcher cookbook about six years ago. In that recipe, you make your own barbecue sauce. In my world, I use Sweet Baby Ray’s. J I’ve used boneless pork chops, bone-in, thin sliced, and pretty much any other type you can imagine. They go great with a baked sweet potato.

  1. Set the oven to broil.
  2. Spray a boiler pan with Pam and lay the chops on it.
  3. Salt and pepper both sides of the pork chops and cover with barbecue sauce.
  4. Place in the oven within a couple inches of the broiler.
  5. Remove every three minutes to brush with barbecue sauce.
  6. After six minutes, flip the pork chops and spread with barbecue sauce.
  7. Repeat this until the pork chops are done (usually six minutes per side for boneless).

I hope this helps some of you when planning dinner. If nothing else, it helped me to get my favorites in one place. 🙂 Happy eating everyone!

Leave a Reply

