Banana Cake with Banana Cream Cheese Frosting

bananacake

Hello readers. As you know, my daughter’s first birthday was last week. I wanted to make a cake for the occasion and after much thought, I decided a banana cake would be perfect. She loves bananas and while not entirely healthy, it would be healthier than some other kinds of cake. I’ve made banana bread many, many times, but this is the first time I’ve made a banana cake and let me just say, it was delicious! So without further ado, here is the recipe.

Cake Ingredients

Cake Ingredients

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
4 medium bananas, mashed
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 cup milk

FROSTING INGREDIENTS:
1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 pureed banana
1 tsp vanilla extract
4 cups powdered sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until well mixed and fluffy. Add eggs and beat well. As always, I used my trusty hand mixer to do all of these things.
IMG_44632. Beat in mashed bananas (I pureed my bananas first, works just as well) and vanilla extract.
IMG_44643. Mix flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a separate bowl.
4. Add flour mixture and milk alternately to the creamed mixture and beat well after each addition.
IMG_44655. Pour into a 9×13 inch baking dish. Place cake into the preheated oven and bake for 25 minutes. You can tell if it’s done by sticking a toothpick in the center; if the toothpick comes out clean, the cake is finished.
IMG_4466 IMG_4467Now, for the banana cream cheese frosting:

1. Beat cream cheese and butter until fluffy and well combined.
IMG_44782. Mix in vanilla.
3. Beat in pureed banana. (Simply mashing a banana with a fork will probably work for this, but I pureed mine.)
4. Add powdered sugar until smooth.
IMG_44795. Spread over cake.
IMG_44806. Enjoy!
bananacake

4 thoughts on “Banana Cake with Banana Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. I think my heart skipped a beat when I saw the photo! It looks so good! I, too, went with a banana cake for my sons first birthday because I had never given him any kind of sweets so I didn’t want his body to overload and break down after one bite. He did love it, but this recipe looks way more delicious than the one I used! His second birthday is coming up, so we might try it then since he loves bananas so much!

    • Great! Glad you like it 🙂 My daughter was mostly interested in eating the frosting…the part with the most sugar! She did enjoy the cake as well, though.

Leave a Reply

