Summery Chicken Salad

Summery Chicken SaladTo me, few things scream summer as much as chicken salad sandwiches with a side of fruit salad. In my head, I’m paying homage to the end of summer around here, so that’s exactly what I decided to make as a light post-swimming pool dinner yesterday. When I started pulling out the ingredients, I couldn’t decide which recipe to use. I have about five that I’ve used before (all good) and a quick search online turned up hundreds. Literally. HUNDREDS. Faced with too many decisions, I threw them all out the window and decided to wing it. Colin swears that this is the best chicken salad he has ever eaten and even said, “You need to post that recipe.” So here it is. 🙂 I didn’t weigh the chicken in advance, so all measurements are approximate, but will get you close enough to adjust to personal taste.

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 8 cups of chicken broth
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 1 cup of grapes, quartered
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds

In a large pot, combine the chicken with the chicken broth and bring to a boil. Cook until the chicken is done all the way through. I checked it after 15 minutes and just kept a watch on it from there. I should also note that my chicken was frozen and I worried that it would come out too tough, but it did not, and I really think the key is the chicken stock (more on that in just a bit).

When the chicken is cooked through it is time to shred it. I used to do this by hand, but have recently learned that a stand mixer with a paddle attachment makes this incredibly easy. You just throw the chicken in, turn it on, and in about 30 seconds, the chicken is perfectly shredded! Definitely the way to go if youhave a mixer. 🙂

The mixer with the paddle attachment.

The mixer with the paddle attachment.

The outcome after shredding with the mixer.

The outcome after shredding with the mixer.

So here’s the important part; strain any fat from the chicken broth that you used to boil the chicken and then pour the broth back over the shredded chicken. Set the whole thing back in the fridge to cool. This gives the chicken the opportunity to soak up all of that tasty flavor and makes it incredibly moist.

After the chicken has cooled (I left it in there for an hour), strain the leftover chicken broth from the chicken. You don’t want to squeeze all of the broth out, just a good shake in the strainer to get the majority will do. Then mix in the mayonnaise, celery, grapes, and almonds and you are all done! As I said earlier, you may have to adjust the ingredients a bit to your taste, but this will get you close. I was prepared to add salt, pepper, and some other spices at this point, but I taste tested the chicken salad and it was wonderful and already so flavorful from the broth that it did not need anything else. Also, if there is a little bit of liquid in the bottom of the bowl, I would suggest not straining it off. Just put a lid on it and stick it in the fridge to cool. I found that it will soak up that remaining liquid and stay moist and delicious. Hope you enjoy!

Tastes excellent on Hawaiian roll or a croissant!  :)

Tastes excellent on Hawaiian roll or a croissant! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Summery Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

