How to Organize a T-Shirt Drawer

Hello readers. You might be thinking, “Ashley? Why are we hearing from Ashley? It’s not her day to post!” Well, you’re right, it’s not. However, due to everybody having lots of family time for the Fourth, we switched things up a bit. This week you get two posts from me, next week you’ll get two posts from Lisa. After that we’ll be back to our regularly scheduled programming. Enjoy! 🙂

I have a bad habit of stacking my clean clothes neatly in my bedroom. I just think it’s easier to see what each shirt is when they’re on the floor than when I have them stacked in my dresser. Not to mention, I don’t have much space in my dresser, and the space in my closet is taken up with clothes that are nicer than t-shirts. Are you like me? Hopefully for your sake you’re more organized than me in that area. However, if you’re not, I’ve got a helpful tip for you!

I am a Pinterest addict. I’m always scouring Pinterest for good ideas. Not only do I love the jokes and inspirational sayings I see on Pinterest, I love seeing household tips, DIY ideas, and recipes! One day when I was browsing I found a link to this post about organizing your accessories. One of the things that post talks about is the t-shirt drawer. This woman had all her t-shirts folded in a way that not only allowed her to see what each t-shirt was just by opening the drawer, but it saved tons of space as well. I knew I had to try it.

My babies currently share a dresser and a closet. Most of their clothes were spread out on our guest bed though. When I saw that Pin I decided it was time to tackle the mess. I folded all of their clothes so I could see what was on each t-shirt or onesie and I lined them up in their drawers. I fit all my daughter’s outfits in one drawer, all of my son’s outfits in another, one drawer for both of their pajamas, and another drawer for both of their socks, hats, and accessories. Any dresses or nice outfits were hung in the closet and when I was done, there wasn’t an item of clothing left on the bed. Success!

Jude's drawer. Melody has one just like it with onesies, skirts, leggings, and tights, but it's not too full at the moment due to lack of clothes that actually fit her so you get to see Jude's!

Jude’s drawer. Melody has one just like it with onesies, skirts, leggings, and tights, but it’s not too full at the moment due to lack of clothes that actually fit her so you get to see Jude’s!

Recently I did the same with mine and my husband’s dresser. I finally moved that pile of clothes off the floor and put them in the drawers. It worked like a charm. Along with the above picture, I’m going to share a picture of our drawer after being organized and I’ll also show pictures of how I folded the t-shirts.

My t-shirt and pajama bottoms drawer. My clothes share that drawer with my husbands socks :)

My t-shirt and pajama bottoms drawer. My clothes share that drawer with my husbands socks 🙂

Start with your chosen t-shirt, and then lay it flat with the side you want to see in the drawer facing down.

Start with your chosen t-shirt, and then lay it flat with the side you want to see in the drawer facing down. I’m particular and always want the front of my t-shirts facing out, but you can choose either side you like.

Next, you want to fold one arm over towards the middle of the shirt.

Next, you want to fold one arm over towards the middle of the shirt.

Then you want to fold the other arm towards the middle of the shirt so it meets the first.

Then you want to fold the other arm towards the middle of the shirt so it meets the first.

Next step is to fold the bottom of the shirt halfway up.

Next step is to fold the bottom of the shirt halfway up.

Finally, fold the top of the shirt down so it lays on top of the bottom have.

Finally, fold the top of the shirt down so it lays on top of the bottom half.

Voila! Now it is folded so you can see the logo on it and know just which shirt it is. If your logo is further down, you can fold the shirt in half again until the logo is on the fold.

Voila! Now it is folded so you can see the logo on it and know just which shirt it is. If your logo is further down, you can fold the shirt in half again until the logo is on the fold.

So there you have it! It’s quick, easy, and efficient. I also suspect this would be a good trick to use when packing a suitcase, but I’ve yet to try it. Good luck!

4 thoughts on “How to Organize a T-Shirt Drawer

  1. Pingback: Clean out your Closet, Dresser Drawers and Donate! | Dangeroustherapy

  2. Pingback: Anthropology Dig In My Drawers | Notes for My Next Life

Leave a Reply

