Gone Girl: A Review

gone girl imageThe third book chosen in the Three Ladies and Their Babies book club was Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. This was a selection full of twists and turns that left the reader wondering if and when the characters of the book were ever going to get back to “normal.”

Gone Girl is a suspense novel written from the alternating points of view of Nick Dunn and his wife, Amy. In the beginning, the reader is introduced to Amy through her diary entries. She is an interesting New Yorker who is full of life and waiting for love when Nick walks into her life. When they finally get reconnected after losing touch, they end up marrying. For a while, the marriage works, but before long, trouble creeps in. Amy seems to be a very accepting and forgiving wife, often sacrificing her own wants and needs to those of her husband. Nick, on the other hand, seems completely self-absorbed and uncaring of his wife’s needs as he drags her off to his Midwest hometown to care for his ailing parents. Then, on their fifth wedding anniversary, Amy disappears, leaving behind signs of a struggle. As Nick becomes the focus of police scrutiny and is hanged in the court of public opinion, we start to learn a little more about their marriage and Amy’s true personality comes to life. Is Amy really the victim of a violent abduction and possible murder at the hands of her husband or is something more going on here? Nick does not help his case much as he tells the reader of his bitterness toward his wife, discusses the shape of her skull, and blunders his way through interviews and interrogations. As the story unfolds and more details come to light, you’ll be kept on your toes trying to figure out where things are going.

I found this book to be very engaging. It did take a few chapters before I really got into it, but by part two, I was hooked. I had a hard time putting it down and found myself trying to sneak in a few pages anytime I had an extra minute or two. I really enjoyed it…until the last few pages. Without ruining it for you, I have to say that I did not like the ending. There were a couple of ways that I could have re-written it in my head. That being said, I’m a big fan of happy endings, and Flynn, herself, is quoted as saying, “I wrote the ending that was the most unsettling to me. I am a big fan of the ending of unease. To me it feels real and it feels unnerving. Because you may not know exactly what is going to happen next in Gone Girl World, but you know it’s not good.”

Overall, I found Gone Girl to be a very quick and intriguing read. It kept me double guessing myself and anxious to see what would happen next. I would give it a solid B, with points knocked off due to the ending, but it is most definitely a great summer book.

Leave a Reply

