A Recipe for Roasted Broccoli

IMG_1549I don’t know about you, but I hate dieting. I’ve done all kinds of diets and I’ve always failed. I finally came to the decision that rather than dieting, I need to make permanent changes to my diet. The key to this is still eating things I enjoy so I don’t want to go back to my unhealthy habits. I still eat things I like, but I’ve found healthier things I like. I cut foods out of my diet in phases and I still allow myself to have those once every couple of weeks or something like that. For example, the first thing I did was cut out french fries. I used to eat french fries every single night with dinner. I knew that I couldn’t handle having them once or twice a week because then I’d want them all the time, so I found a veggie that I liked and I replaced them with that. What’s the vegetable that replaced my french fries? Roasted broccoli with onion powder. It’s incredibly easy and so delicious! I liked broccoli before, but I love it like this. This recipe keeps the broccoli crunchy while also not being dried out or burnt. It’s perfect.

INGREDIENTS:
2 1/2 cups Broccoli florets
1/2 T Oil (Use whichever type of oil you prefer. I’ve used sunflower oil today because that’s what I have on hand.)
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)
Onion powder (to taste)

1. Preheat oven to 390°F. You can use a lower temp if you want, just be sure to leave it in a little longer if you do.

2. Cut your broccoli florets into fairly even sized, small pieces (I use broccoli that’s already cut into florets because it’s cheaper, but I still have to cut those down smaller. If you’re using a head of broccoli, you can cut the stem into pieces and do those the same way, or just get rid of the stem after cutting off the florets). If they’re not similar in size, they’ll roast differently and some may burn by the time the others are fully roasted.

3. Spread them in a roasting pan. Take your tablespoon of oil and a brush and spread the oil over the broccoli so every piece has some on it. Alternatively, you can toss the broccoli in the oil.

4. Next, sprinkle salt, pepper, and onion powder (In my picture you see onion salt. If you use onion salt, no need to add salt as well, that would be extremely salty, unless that’s your thing.) to taste. I tend to use a lot of seasoning so I hate to give any kind of measurement here, just use the amount that you’re happy with.

Broccoli covered in oil, salt, pepper, and onion powder. Ready to go into the oven.

Broccoli covered in oil, salt, pepper, and onion powder. Ready to go into the oven.

Put it in the oven and roast for 6 minutes or until it’s just starting to brown. Remove, and enjoy!

broccoli

Leave a Reply

