Blueberry Banana Bread

DSC05334

I have a confession to make…I love banana bread. Seriously, it’s dangerous for me to be around it because I’m likely to eat the whole loaf. Not that that stops me from baking it. We have banana bread pretty regularly in this house. This is such an easy recipe to make, even if you’re not the best at baking. I decided to change it up this time and put some blueberries in it. It was pretty yummy. My husband liked it fresh from the oven, but I thought it tasted better the second day. I’ve added notes of what to do if you’d rather make banana bread without the blueberries as well.

  • 1/2 cup of butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 bananas, mashed (4 bananas if you’re making banana bread without blueberries.)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 to 1 cup blueberries

First, preheat the oven to 350°. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. I used an electric hand mixer, which makes it a pretty easy job.

creambuttersugar

DSC05339

Next step is to add the eggs and mashed bananas. Sometimes I mash the bananas with a fork and sometimes I use my blender. It’s quicker and less work for your hands to use the blender, of course. It’s up to you how you do it, it comes out great either way. (Note: If you want to make this without the blueberries, add a fourth banana to the mix at this point.)

eggsbanana DSC05342

Now you need to combine the flour, baking soda, and salt into a separate bowl. Next, you need to add the flour mixture to the creamed mixture and mix those together. When that is done, add the vanilla and you can just use a spoon to mix that in.

combineflour

This is the mixture before I stirred the vanilla in.

This is the mixture before I stirred the vanilla in.

The final step is to add the blueberries, I also used a spoon for this step to be more gentle with the blueberries. I used a cup and I think that was the perfect amount, but really the amount you use depends on how much you like blueberries, which is why I said 1/2 cup to 1 cup in the ingredients. (Note: If you’re making the banana bread without blueberries, skip this step.)

DSC05346

Once those are incorporated into the mixture, pour into a greased bread pan and put it in the oven to bake for 60 minutes.

DSC05347

You can check that it’s baked through by sticking a toothpick into the highest point of the bread and if it comes out clean, it’s done.
bbbread

Nothing left to do but slice, eat, and enjoy! 😉

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Banana Bread

  1. I made these Wednesday night and they were FANTASTIC! By far, the best banana bread recipe I’ve used. I didn’t want to wait the whole hour so I made them into muffins because it was getting close to bedtime. 🙂 One batch made 18 regular sized muffins and it only took them about 25 minutes! They did not last long! Thanks for sharing!

  2. I am making these now! Only without the blueberries and I added walnuts. By far the easiest banana bread recipe I have ever tried…and I have tried many!! 🙂 Can’t wait to taste it!!!

Leave a Reply

