25 Things to Know about Me

We at Three Ladies and Their Babies decided that it would be good to let you know a little more about us. You read our blog and you know our opinions and advice. But you don’t really know who we are. So, we’re each going to tell you 25 random things about us you might like to know. This week, I’m going first. The other two ladies will follow me with theirs in the next two weeks. These are in absolutely no order of importance whatsoever. Instead, they are in the order of a very tired mom’s brain that has had no help for over 24 hours.

558882_4557519054975_1994579165_n

        I’m a teacher at heart.  I have a degree in elementary education, but have never had my own classroom. Right after my college graduation we moved to Tennessee and since I knew it was only a temporary move, I didn’t see the point in jumping through the hoops to get certified in another state. Maybe someday I’ll put my degree to work, we’ll see.

        I have a nickname that I’ve had since birth. My family on my Dad’s side all call me, “Pig.” Most people hear that and instantly become offended on my behalf. It’s not nearly as brutal as it sounds. In fact, it’s actually rather sweet. I was born before the opportunity was available to know the gender of a baby before birth.  So, when I was born my Dad called my sister and brother who were anxiously waiting at home with my grandparents.  He informed them that “we got us a little girl piglet!” And thus, the name has stuck.

        As a child I was attending a funeral with my parents of an old lady who went to our church. During the services I needed to go to the restroom. My mom told me I could go on my own but to hurry back. I ended up having a difficult time finding the ladies’ restroom. Finally though, I found the men’s restroom. Next to it there was a door that I decided must be the ladies’ restroom. I was wrong. I was terribly wrong. I opened the door to discover a body lying on a table.  He was draped with a white sheet but his head was uncovered. There was no one else to be seen. I can only imagine he was about to be prepped for his funeral. In horror, I quickly shut the door and ran back to my mom. I will NEVER forget that event. Still to this day I get an eerie feeling and have flashbacks of the dead man when I pass the funeral home.

        I met the love of my life when I was 17 and married him at 18, just 4 days after I graduated from high school. If you’re thinking, “Man, that’s young!” You’re right, it was and is. I knew what I wanted and I still do. We’ve been married for almost 6 years now and I’ve never regretted it for a minute. I can’t imagine life being any different.

        On our honeymoon, Brian and I discovered a bank bag full of money in the parking lot of a putt-putt golf joint. We picked the bag up to find over 1,000 bucks in it. We looked at each other for a brief moment of, “What do we do?” It would have been awesome to keep it, but it wasn’t ours to keep. We took it into the golf office and they told us a worker must have dropped it on her way out to the bank. They thanked us and then charged us the fee to golf with them.

        I love fishing. I’m not a tom boy in any other way, except for this. In fact, sitting on the bank with a fishing pole in my hand is the most at peace with the Earth I ever feel. It’s my happy place.

        I love old music. Starting from malt shop oldies all the way to the 90’s, I just love it all! I think music today mostly stinks. Technology has taken away the need for talent.

        I’m terrified of dying. I’m not referring to the afterlife. I just mean the actual process of dying. The thought of not being able to breathe and knowing I’m dying terrifies me. I’ve often joked that I want to live to be 115 and get struck dead by a lightning bolt I never saw coming.

        I am claustrophobic. I first knew I was as a really young child playing under the bed, I would panic to quickly get out because I had an irrational fear that if I didn’t get out quickly I never would. I can’t stand to be shut up in a tiny space.

        I have a beautiful baby girl who is my whole entire world. She is my happiness and my reason for being on this Earth. The moment I first laid eyes on her my purpose for existing became clear.

        The hardest time of my life was during the time when we suffered a miscarriage. All things happen for a reason though, and one positive out of the situation is that I now feel a strong desire to reach out to other mothers who are going through the same heartbreaking ordeal as so many reached out to me.

        I plan to one day write and publish a children’s book. I’m waiting for a light bulb of inspiration to go off before I get started with that.

        When I was a kid I was sucking on the lid to my lipstick candy and accidentally sucked it down my throat. My dad saw that I was choking and performed the Heimlich maneuver on me. I feel certain that had he not been there, I would have died. That was such a traumatic experience.

        I have always felt like an old soul trapped in a young person’s body. I don’t believe in reincarnation, but if it exists then I was certainly an old woman in my past life.  As I was growing up, I just felt different than the other kids and so often found myself playing the role of “Mom” amongst my friends.

        I feel ashamed and embarrassed when I think of the way I treated other kids in elementary school. I remember one time in particular when I was a bully.  That breaks my heart to think of, but it’s true.  It’s one of my goals as a parent to make sure that my Lilly knows that bullying will never be tolerated in our home, not to her or from her.

        There’s never been a time in my life when I’ve been comfortable and confident in my body. I’ve always been just a little overweight.  I really want to be confident in my appearance. Mostly, I want to be skinny, but if that’s not going to happen then I just want to be able to feel good in my own skin.

        I love researching my ancestry! Using ancestry.com I was able to track my family back to the 1300’s in a castle in England. (I realize that sounds like I’m making a commercial, but really it is a cool site!)

        I have a line of freckles on my right arm that form a perfect “L.” As a child I always imagined that after he was finished making me, God stamped an L on my arm for Lisa. I swore when I was old enough I was going to fill in the blanks like a dot to dot with a tattoo. That idea is way gone now as I prefer not to look like I’ve spent time in the slammer.

         I love being pregnant and giving birth! Yes, I’m one of “those” wierdos. I miss being pregnant and though I’m nowhere near ready for another baby, I can’t wait to be pregnant again.

        This one’s lame but here goes. I have never played on any kind of sports team in my whole life. Not even t-ball which takes the skill of walking and holding a bat, that’s it. It makes me sad that I never did. I’ll be signing Lilly up for dance or t-ball or something as soon as she’s old enough.

        I have 6 curly white hairs that grow out of a birthmark on my head. People who just notice it for the first time like to point them out to me by saying “Oh my gosh Lisa, you’ve got white hair!” Yes, this I know.

        I have two basset hounds that are the grossest most annoying beings on the planet.

        Brian and I still watch Survivor every week and love it. Turns out, there are very few people who know that that show still exists.

        I’m a hillbilly, which means my favorite meal on the planet is soup beans, fried potatoes, fried green tomatoes, killed lettuce (if you’re not a hillbilly as well, you’ll wonder what that is. Look it up), and cornbread.

        I have disproportionately large arms. It’s a family trait passed down through the generations of my mother’s family.  Sleeveless shirts are a big heck no for me!

Let me tell you, you have no idea just how boring you really are until you try to think about 25 things you could tell people about yourself. But, this is me in a nut shell. Of course there’s way more to get to know about me than I can tell you in 25 bullets, so you’ll need to be sure to keep up with the blog for more of that.

7 thoughts on “25 Things to Know about Me

  1. Pingback: 25 Things to Know About Me – Ashley’s Version | Three Ladies and Their Babies

  2. I feel the same way about music! I love old songs that tell stories. I find very little meaning in today’s music.

    I met my husband when I was 7 and he was 8. Had a huge crush on him all throughout our childhoods. He of course pretended I didn’t exist until I was 17 and he was 18. We got married at 21 and 22.

Leave a Reply

