35 Before 35

Yesterday, I turned 30.  As I went about my day (and really this entire week), I found myself spending a lot of time thinking about what I have and have not accomplished and what my goals are.  I’ve decided that my 20’s were really good to me and I’m exactly where I want to be.  🙂  A lot of people have a list of 30 things they want to do before they turn 30.  Well, I was busy and I guess I just never got around to it.  So I’ve decided to come up with 35 things I want to do before 35.  I’ve got exactly 5 years to get things done.  Here they are in random order!

1.  Have another baby.  I just don’t feel like I’m finished yet.  Life is hectic with the two boys we already have, but I’m still thinking one more.  I no longer care whether I have a girl or a boy next time.  I’ve found that it’s kind of fun being a boy mom.  Colin says he’s good with two, but we’ll see how we feel in a couple more years.

2.  Sleep through the night on a regular basis.  It’s been about 3 ½ years now.  Declan is almost 6 months old and is still waking up twice through the night to eat (three times last night).  Lately, Ian has been waking up some, too.  Toddlers and infants in my house just don’t sleep, but I figure five years is long enough to have another baby and for all three children to finally be sleeping.  That could just be wishful thinking, though.  I really, really miss sound sleep.

3.  Visit Disney World.  Aside from my siblings, I feel like the only adult I know who hasn’t been to Disney World yet.  In fact, when I told Colin I was doing this post, his first question was, “Is Disney World on there?”  Yes, dear, it is.

disney

4.  Manage to take a girl vacation.  I don’t really care where, but I would love to have even a long weekend with the girls.  No husbands, no kids.  Just lots of laughter and girl talk.  This one is hard since we now all have husbands and children, but I’m going to work on it.

5.  Go back to an all-inclusive with the hubby.  We did an all-inclusive in St. Lucia for our honeymoon and one in Jamaica before Ian came along.  They. Are. Fabulous.  Our ten year anniversary is in four years.  Maybe we can shoot for then.

6.  Get healthy and fit.  I’m working on this one.  After letting my weight creep back up and then having two kids, it’s a long road back.  I’ve bought a treadmill and I’m using it daily.  I’m not sure how long it will take, but I am now on the road to losing the weight and becoming more active.  It’s happening.

7.  Enjoy exercise.  So far, this isn’t happening.

8.  Get an annual physical at my own doctor like a real adult.  Aside from my OB/GYN, Colin and I still do not have a regular doctor in Houston.  This is absolutely ridiculous.  We both go to an urgent care clinic every time we end up with bronchitis or something and neither of us has been getting annual physicals.  Stupid.

9.  Have Lasik surgery.  My eyes are terrible.  I have had glasses/contacts since I was seven and cannot even see the huge red numbers on the clock that is on my nightstand.  I would love to be able to just wake up and see one day.

10. Get my boobs fixed.  Yeah.  Didn’t see that one coming, did ya?  I’ve borne and breastfed two children thus far.  I do not regret it and I understand the sentiment when people say that the changes in my body are evidence that I’m a mother.  Well, my children are evidence that I’m a mother and I want back what God gave me; no more, no less.  If I can recover from two c-sections (hopefully three) then I think I deserve to have things put back where they started.

eye_brows 11.  Sell our Kentucky house.  This one speaks for itself.  The house is going back on the market next week.  Fingers crossed, everyone!

12.  Buy a Texas house.  We are currently renting in Texas and have signed a lease to stay in our house through September of next year, when we would love to buy a house.  Since I am not willing to have two mortgages, it all hinges on the previous goal of selling our Kentucky house.

13.  Pay off all of our student loan debt.  As of now, we are on track to have all of our student loans paid off by December 2018.  We are trying to do it before then, but in order to complete this goal, they’ll have to be paid off by March 2018.  We’ll see how it goes!

14.  Feel financially secure.  I’m ridiculous when it comes to budgeting.  I have Excel spreadsheets from here to next week outlining our financial goals and I keep a rolling two year budget.  But as it is for most people, something always pops up (like having a house that you can’t sell).  I just want to get to the point where I feel comfortable that we can easily swing these unforeseen issues.

15.  Watch the entire Lord of the Rings series.  The first movie came out during my freshman year in college and I had to watch it for a class.  I really liked it and waited anxiously for the second movie to come out.  I watched it immediately.  Something happened between the second and third movie, though, and I’m not sure what it was.  I totally lost interest and never saw the last one.  I want to just sit down and watch them all again at this point.

lor

16.  Write a book.  I love to write and I do quite a bit of reading.  I used to love the assignments in high school and college where we were asked to write short stories.  I could always really lose myself in the stories I would create.  I have no idea what I would even write  about at this point, but I think it would be fun to try.

17.  Open a bakery (or at least look into it).  This is the one that probably scares me the most. I really, really love to bake and I love to try my food out on other people.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever have the confidence to do it, but I would LOVE to open a bakery.  I think I need to start researching what kind of financial investment it would take and what the success rate might be around here.

18.  Take some baking/pastry/decorating courses.  This obviously goes along with the previous goal.  I love to bake, but I have no real training; just a lot of time in the kitchen.  I would love to be able to perfectly ice a cake, make a beautiful pie crust, and learn a little more about the chemistry behind how certain ingredients work together.

19.  Figure out what I want to do once the kids are all in school.  This one is tough and I just don’t know what the answer is.  I’m pretty sure I won’t be content to stay at home once they are in school full time, even though I know I would be busy.  I think the bakery is what I would really like to do, but we’ll see.

20.  Disconnect some.  I spend a LOT of time on my phone.  Between texting, checking Pinterest, facebook, and taking pictures of every cute thing my kids are doing, I am constantly connected.  My phone is my crutch and never out of my eyesight.  I feel certain this is not an entirely positive thing.

no phone

21.  Learn to quilt.  One year in Elementary school, I made a pair of shorts for a 4H project.  I have also taken one sewing class at the local Michaels.  Both of these efforts produced broken sewing machine needles.  I would really like to learn how to master the art of quilting, but at the moment, I am sewing machine deficient.  This one is going to take some work.

22.  Plant a garden.  When we first bought our house in Kentucky, I planted a bunch of herbs and a few vegetables.  I had one edible tomato and two banana peppers.  Everything else died.  I do not have a green thumb, but I love the idea of growing some of our own food and I think this would be super fun to do with the boys.

23.  Learn how to clean and organize without spending my life doing so.  I am pretty Type A when it comes to having a clean and organized home.  There is a place for everything and everything should be in its place.  I save a lot of time just being able to put my hands on something when I need it.  This has obviously become more challenging with children.  I find myself having to step back and prioritize between cleaning/organizing and playing with my boys.  In my typical Type A brain, I know there has to be a way to have a more efficient household without spending all of my time working on it.  I’m going to figure it out.

24.  Attend at least one DMB concert every year.  Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a huge Dave Matthews fan.  I’ve already purchased my tickets through the fan club for this year’s summer tour and hope to continue to do so every year.

dmb1

25.  Continue date night once a month.  At some point when I was pregnant with Declan, Colin and I realized that it had been seven months since we had gone on a date.  We were so busy working and raising Ian that we kept putting off finding a babysitter and eventually realized that it had been too long since we’d had some time alone.  We have since found an awesome baby sitter and make it a point to go out at least once a month.  It is a goal of mine to make sure that this continues.

26.  See the Radio City Rockettes at Christmastime.  I love Christmas and everything about it.  I love the shopping, the music, the excess of food, the decorations, and all of the family time.  To me, Christmas starts when the Rockettes dance in the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.  I want to get all excited and herald in the season watching them perform live, preferably with my sister, who also gets overly excited about the Rockettes.

27.  Settle on Christmas traditions/travel plans with the kids.  I’m very torn on this one.  To me, Christmas doesn’t really feel like Christmas unless we’re with our family.  We live in Houston with no family nearby and up until now, we’ve taken turns spending Christmas with my family one year and Colin’s the next.  But on the same note, I have so many awesome memories of waking up in my own bed on Christmas morning and excitedly waking my brother and sister to go see what Santa brought.  I want my kids to have that, too, but selfishly, I want to travel and be with family during the holidays.  As the boys get bigger and our family expands, we’re going to have to reach a compromise and start our own traditions.  I’m just not sure what that is going to look like yet.

28.  Put more time into friendships.  I have had the same two best friends my entire life.  There is not a thing about me that they don’t know.  At the same time, I’ve made some really good, really close friends over the past few years.  Sometimes it gets hard to remember that a simple phone call to reconnect goes a long way.  I need to get better at that.

29.  Let go of feeling guilty over everything.  Mom guilt, work guilt, wife guilt.  The list goes on and on.  I am the world’s best taker of guilt trips.  And the sad thing is, I need no help.  I come up with reasons to take them all by myself.  This is going to have to change.

30.  Convince people to visit us in Houston.  We are a long way away from our family.  When we moved to Houston, I made people promise that they would come and see us.  So far, our parents and Colin’s brother’s family have been here.  I’m going to start working on my powers of persuasion.

31.  Get a big, dumb dog, make it part of the family, and actually enjoy it.  We had to get rid of our dogs when we moved to Houston and realized that we were going to be renting for three years. To be honest, though, my love affair with our dogs ended when Ian started crawling.  I still miss them sometimes, but I do not miss seeing my teething baby with dog hair plastered to his face by all the drool.  When we are certain we are finished having kids and the last one is walking, I want another dog.

dog

32.  Join a book club.  I love to read and discuss, but it is rare that anyone is reading the same thing I am.  I think it would be really fun to join a book club for the sole purpose of getting together and chatting about a book.

33.  Volunteer frequently.  I want to do more in our community.  I have been blessed with a lot more than many people and feel the need to give back.  At the same time, I think it’s important for the boys to see us helping others.

34.  Have a will prepared.  This one is dumb.  We are both lawyers, we have two children, and we still don’t have a will.  I plan to change this one within the next few months.

35.  Learn how to successfully navigate Southwest Houston.  I won’t even make it a goal to figure out all of Houston.  We’ve been here 18 months and I still get lost in Sugar Land.  Enough said.

So there ya go!  I’ll try to remember to update as I cross things off the list.  Here’s to my 30’s being as exciting as my 20’s!

9 thoughts on “35 Before 35

  1. First off, awesome post! I have replies to some of your goals lol:

    1. You know my great love of Disney World. I think that’s a magnificent goal! Travis and I along with Danielle and Taylors families are planning a Disney trip in October 2017 and I am already pumped for it. 🙂

    2. Lasik would be awesome. I am so scared of having my eyes worked on and its expensive, otherwise I would be right there with you on that. I’m excited for you to get that!

    3. I saw only the first Lord of the Rings and I hated it! Just sharing lol.

    4. Opening a bakery would be really cool! One of Sammie’s cousins runs one out of her house and sells online. Her stuff is delicious.

    5. As far as being attached to your cellphone I am like that too. Because somethings wrong with it I have to take the battery out to charge right now and it kills me to have it off while I am charging it. I am way too connected but I get seriously anxious when I am without my phone.

    6. The Rockettes are amazing, I completely agree! I’ve seen the Radio City Christmas Spectacular twice and loved it both times!

    7. I fully believe the guilt runs in our family because I am the same way. I feel guilty constantly for different things.

    8. Travis and I have talked about visiting you guys in Houston and do intend to at some point, I just don’t know when yet. Its harder with Danielle being out of state too.

    9. Yay for book clubs! That’s all lol.

    • You’ve seen the Rockettes?! I’m so jealous! And I totally know what you mean about traveling here. I’m the same way when I come to KY. I always want to go to MI, too, but if I’m traveling, chances are good I’m heading home to KY…lol.

  2. This is wonderful Stephany! Stick with it…believe me…you will regret it if you just let it go. There are MANY things I thought I would do “someday”, but I made no plans to make it happen. I regret that. I am now working on a “bucket list” to accomplish before I am sixty…it freaks me out a little just how close that is. 😉

    • I figure even if I don’t do them all, I at least have them written down and that makes it more likely…lol

  3. Pingback: Three Ladies and Their Babies: The Book Club |

Leave a Reply

